Restoring Your Driver's License Client-Focused. Relentless Advocacy.

Reinstating a DWI Suspended License in North Carolina

Drunk Driving Defense from Fayetteville DWI Lawyers

If you were convicted for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of North Carolina, your driving privileges can be revoked, and you will have to apply for reinstatement once the suspension period has been fulfilled. After the suspension period has ended, the driver charged with a DWI will have to complete specific steps in order to reinstate his or her license. It is important to closely follow this process because the penalties for driving on a suspended license can be severe.

Steps to License Restoration

Reinstatement of a license will require you to retake the driving tests if your license has been suspended for more than a year. Tests for reinstatement include the vision test, knowledge test and road test. Your license will remain either suspended or revoked if you do not complete the steps to reinstatement. A Fayetteville DWI lawyer from our firm can help you through the process so that you can get back into the driver's seat with confidence. An attorney from the Plyler Law Firm, P.A. can provide you with all the information you need to know and the legal guidance your situation requires.

Once you have served your suspension time after being convicted of DWI, you will need to provide proof to the DMV that you enrolled in an alcohol safety school if that is a requirement of your charge. You will need to pay the $75 reinstatement fee and all court fines. After all of the fines and other specific requirements have been fulfilled, you can reapply for your license. If you pass all tests, your license and privilege to drive will be reinstated.

Additional Requirements

In many cases, reinstating a license will require proof of car insurance. Before the DMV will reinstate your driver's license, they will demand an SR-22, which is proof of financial responsibility. After reinstatement, you will have to carry SR-22 insurance coverage for three years. Your insurance provider has a responsibility to inform the North Carolina DMV of any lapse in SR-22 coverage. If your penalty for a DWI included the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), you will have to provide proof to the DMV that the device is in your car.

Whether you have been convicted of a first-time DWI or you have been charged with multiple offenses, it is important to know the process and take the steps to properly reinstate your license. Mandatory revocation periods will depend on the number of offenses committed. For a first- offense DWI, your license will be revoked for at least one year. Our firm can help you pursue your best interest and help you start driving once again. Contact us today for the legal assistance you deserve!

  • Matthew R. Plyler Photo
    Matthew R. Plyler


    Matthew R. Plyler is a general practice attorney who provides knowledgeable and compassionate representation to residents of Fayetteville and the surroundings area. He has been practicing law for over 20 years, handling a wide range of practice areas. This experience provides him with the background and skill needed to be successful. He approaches each case with a rare level of dedication and zeal that serves his clients well. During the initial consultation, he will take as much time as is ...

Local Attorney Helping Local People

The Stories that Matter
  • “Mr. Plyler took care of everything and somehow it was all dismissed.”

    - Megan Polston
  • “Matthew is without a shout of a doubt the best lawyer to work with especially if you get a ticket and you are out of town.”

    - Sir Manny
  • “He is extremely knowledgeable and he will do his very best to represent his clients.”

    - Zachary Hamilton