Fayetteville DWI Attorney Explains North Carolina Penalties
A driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrest is a situation that can be frightening
and stressful for anyone involved. Many factors are considered when the
court is determining the penalties for an offender's alleged charge.
Basic penalties for a DWI in North Carolina can be severe with or without
aggravating factors added to the charges. North Carolina carries an implied
consent law, which means that refusal to submit to a chemical test will
automatically result in a fine and license suspension. If you have been
arrested for a DWI in the state of North Carolina, it is important to
speak with a
Fayetteville DWI attorney from our firm right away.
First-time DWI offenders can face a minimum jail sentence of 24 hours, a $200 fine and
driver's license suspension for up to a year. Refusal to submit to
a breath test will likely increase the offender's penalties. First-time
offenders are not typically required to install an ignition interlock
device (IID) in their vehicles. An IID is a breathalyzer that is connected
to the vehicle's dashboard. A DWI offender's vehicle will not
start without establishing that the driver has a legal blood alcohol content
Individuals who are charged with a second offense can face penalties including
a minimum jail time of four days and a license suspension of between one
and four years. Such penalties can be applied to offenders whose second
DWI came within three years of the first. An interlock ignition device
may also be required for the vehicle of the arrested driver. DWI penalties
for a third offense can include a minimum jail sentence of 14 - 30 days,
heavy fines, and driver's license suspension for anywhere from 1 year
life. If the offender's license is restored, the offender may be required
to install an ignition interlock device onto the dashboard of their vehicle.
As your Fayetteville DWI lawyer, we can provide you with a solid defense
to help you against the charges you are facing. As your lawyer, we can
also help you restore your driver's license if it has been suspended.
Since 1993, our firm's lead attorney has been providing legal defense
to people accused of drunk driving, and our firm has been helping local
residents throughout Fayetteville, North Carolina since 2000. We can use
our knowledge, resources and skills to help you obtain the best outcome
Contact the Plyler Law Firm, P.A. today!